Books, Reviews

Book Review: Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass #1)

Title: Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass #1)16034235

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Romance

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Published by: Bloomsbury

Goodreads rating: 4.24 (as of writing)

Ugh. Love triangle. Annoying MC. Thank the Goddesses for Chaol Westfall.

Warning: Long Celaena bashing ahead. I am just too disappointed in her. Just so very disappointed. I couldn’t contain myself. I just have to let all these negativity out or I’ll burst!


Taken from Goodreads:

In a land without magic, where the king rules with an iron hand, an assassin is summoned to the castle. She comes not to kill the king, but to win her freedom. If she defeats twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition, she is released from prison to serve as the king’s champion. Her name is Celaena Sardothien.

The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her. But something evil dwells in the castle of glass–and it’s there to kill. When her competitors start dying one by one, Celaena’s fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival, and a desperate quest to root out the evil before it destroys her world.


Okay, I wasn’t really that bothered with the love triangle. I was more bothered by Celaena herself.

Celaena Sardothien is a disgrace to all assassins, of that I have no doubts. She just doesn’t fit the sacred image I harbored of assassins. To me, assassins are calm, collected, disciplined, clever, patient, calculating, cunning.

Celaena is none of those things.

She’s vain, shallow, impatient, materialistic, undisciplined, arrogant, petty and stupid. For someone called the “greatest” assassin, she doesn’t really live up to it. I would have understood if she was still starting out. But no! She’s already an established assassin. The greatest it seems. Unfortunately, no matter how much I try, I just couldn’t see her as an assassin. Her thoughts are filled with idle things like how much skin she was exposing and wondering if Chaol noticed, dresses, and being pretty.

What the actual hell? She’s just too– Gah! So annoying! If she was their greatest assassin then I will have to form my own conclusion that the rest of the assassins are even lamer.

She looked at her rags and stained skin, and she couldn’t suppress the twinge of shame. What a miserable state for a girl of former beauty!

A lot of times I had to stop and read some lines over and over again, wondering…

WHAT THE SMOKING GUACAMOLE IS UP WITH THIS INSUFFERABLE, POSTURING BARBIE DOLL?!

The author wants me to believe that Celaena Sardothien was the world’s greatest assassin at the age of what…16? 17? Why? What happened to the adults who would logically have more experience? Did they all up and died? I don’t think the author even mentioned WHY she was even the greatest assassin in the world.

In addition to that, I think the author spent around 50% of the book trying to convince and remind me that Celaena is really, really, really, really pretty and very super awesomely special. (I think I puked a little in my mouth).

Yes, I get it. She’s PURRTY. SHE’S PURRFECT.

In less than a second, she could get her arms over the prince’s head and have her shackles crushing his windpipe. It might be worth it just to see the expression on Chaol’s face.

Celaena also just keeps thinking that she can do this and she can do that, that it was so easy to disarm that character or kill that character. That’s about the only assassin-y thing about her thoughts and I DON’T BUY IT. Like the author just added them in just to remind the readers that yes, indeed, she was an assassin–not a wanna-be Diva. It felt too much like she was just posturing. Just telling me she could but she never actually showed.

A lot of times I mentally yelled at her: Fudging do it! You’re all bark and no bite!

Also, the UK cover be like:

A heart of ice. A will of steel. Meet the assassin.

What a load of bull crap! Such false advertising! I hate that the most especially in books! She did NOT have heart of ice. In fact she easily gets attached -_- The only indication of her icy heart was when spoilers, highlight to read: she broke up with Dorian at the end because it’s not right to be with the prince when she was the King’s Champion. As if it was right to be having a relationship with him in the first place when she hasn’t won the tournament yet. Ugh. But she doesn’t fool me. I bet she only did that so she could jump Chaol instead *roll eyes*

Is she really supposed to be some super awesome assassin or is the author just pulling my leg?

I mean, sure, she spent a whole year toiling as a slave and has been horribly malnourished. I would’ve bought that as a reason why she would be lame. But her thoughts itself doesn’t really reflect that of someone who lost everything, someone who lost a friend/lover.

At first I just thought that maybe she’s just strong enough for it not to break her. Or she’s just pushing the pain and sadness into the depths of her soul.

But no  -_-

The first time she saw Prince Dorian, she was all “I hate him but he’s handsome”.  With Chaol, she was also all “he’s not excessively handsome but he’s still appealing”. What. The.  FUDGING. Hell.  Her character is so out of character for the character she’s supposedly playing.

In short, she just doesn’t scream “greatest assassin” at all. But she is undoubtedly a special snowflake.

  • Tragic backstory
  • Hinted at being magical (and therefore more special than other hapless hoomans)
  • Very, very, very, veerrryyyyyy PRETTY
  • Multiple love interests and people (and non-people?) like her just because
  • Very talented
  • Smart (riiiggghhttt…I’ll be the judge of that)
  • The greatest
  • The chosen one
  • Has some weird physical feature that doesn’t seem relevant to the story

At a passing glance, one might think her eyes are blue or gray, perhaps even green, depending on the color of her clothing. Up close though, these warring hues were offset by the brilliant rings of gold around her pupils.

Uh-huh -_- Please. Spare me.

I could actually forgive the fact that she’s a girly girl who loves dresses. In fact it would not have bothered me in the slightest since another favorite assassin character of mine, Leliana from Dragon Age Series, likes to dress up too.

But Celaena went about it stupidly. She spent her time dolling herself up, thinking about how pretty she is, thinking about how pretty she was in a dress, and fuming why she wasn’t invited into parties.

*Roll eyes*

Didn’t she have important things to do than flounce about in front of the mirror?

“For the world’s greatest assassin, this is pathetic.”

So do I hate this book?

Not exactly. In all honesty, I actually like the plot. I really do. The author is talented (although I still don’t know what she was thinking when she made a character like Celaena) and her writing is so easy to gobble up. She’s great at world building; their myths, religion, holidays, and history made the world seem more complex– for a first book I mean. As someone trying her hand on world building, I know this is nothing to sneeze at.

The way she pieces the events flows naturally and just when I have almost forgotten a piece of information from a few chapters ago, she draws it up and reveals that it was actually important information. I love it! I also really loved the mystery in the book and the way I had to keep guessing and re-guessing who is actually the villain behind the gory killings.

I also adore the friendships she formed with the Princess Nehemia, Chaol and even Nox. I enjoyed the banters between Celaena and Chaol. And there was that one scene with Princess Nehemia and Celaena that made me tear up. Nox, even if he was rarely shown, seemed like he could be a potentially great character too. Why couldn’t just the author focus more on her friendships than the romance? The romance sucked. I did NOT like.

The romance, along with Celaena’s misplaced juvenile personality, took away from the main plot.

But I do have to give Celaena credit. When she wasn’t thinking with her ovaries, she could almost actually be bearable. ALMOST. She’s actually kind enough to worry about her friends which is a big plus points for me.

She’s still stupid though. I mean, there was that scene with a bag of candies with no name or note and she just fudging ATE them without even suspecting if it was poisoned or not. Knowing that some murdering lout is roaming the palace halls freely. I wished then that it really WAS poisoned. -_-

Spoiler (highlight to see):

She really was poisoned a bit later on lol Serves her right.

Conclusion

Great writing and story (for the most part), eye-rolling main character. I am actually surprised my eyeballs are still inside my eye sockets from the amount of times I rolled them whenever she said or did something stupid.

I have a love-hate relationship with this book. On the other hand, I liked the story, the world, Chaol Westfall. But then I really dislike Celaena and the romance. Was the romance necessary? No, it wasn’t, if the ending was any indication. The romance felt like it was just added so that teenage girls who would be reading this book would have something to fangirl about.

Honestly, if it weren’t for Chaol Westfall (mah new bby), I would have been a lot less generous with my opinion (and rating). I am appropriately mad with Celaena for disgracing assassins. They are my favorite characters to use in games or to read about 😥

Still, I have become a fan of Sarah J. Maas with this book and she’s definitely added to my “writer goals” now XD Though I won’t be referencing her when it comes to creating assassin characters (or main characters for that matter) XD


My ratingtwk-fullstartwk-fullstartwk-fullstartwk-nostartwk-nostar

Recommended to: Chick-lit lovers

Favorite character: Chaol Westfall

Favorite quote“Names are not important. It’s what lies inside of you that matters.”

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass #1)”

Share a Thought

