Books, Reviews

Book Review: Cress (The Lunar Chronicles #3)

21469054Title: Cress (The Lunar Chronicles #3)

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Sci-fi, Romance

Author: Marissa Meyer

Published by: Square Fish

Goodreads rating: 4.47 (as of writing)

My reviews of the other books in this series:

Cinder || Scarlet

Warning: Reviewer’s brain is a bit unhinged.


Taken from Goodreads:

In this third book in the Lunar Chronicles, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, now with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army.

Their best hope lies with Cress, a girl imprisoned on a satellite since childhood who’s only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker. Unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.

When a daring rescue of Cress goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a higher price. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to Emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.


How do I move on from a book so I could read another one? Preferably the next and final book Winter?

Because this book just won’t let me go and gather my thoughts to write a review despite having finished reading it! The action! The adventure! The suspense! The thrill! The romance! This book is just so perfect for me! So damn perfect!

I JUST CAN’T HANDLE MYSELF RIGHT NOW!

PHEW! Okay, done overreacting XD

Like the first two books, this book is a fairy tale retelling. This time based on Rapunzel.

Unlike the previous book there were no new important characters introduced because they were apparently already introduced (albeit briefly and vaguely) in the first book, Cinder.

They are:

  • Cress the genius hacker who is almost like Cinder but more innocent and cutesy
  • Jacin Clay the lunar guard who may or may not be a jerk (I’m leaning for the former)
  • Princess Winter the kind, weird and crazy lunar princess who happens to be Levana’s step-daughter

And the characters we already have:

  • Cinder the unconventional yet definitely kick-ass cyborg princess
  • Emperor Kai the poor cinnamon roll who was forced to become Levana’s unwilling groom and subsequently became the “lad-in-distress” in this book don’t worry, your princess in shining titanium limbs is coming to save you ❤ 
  • Scarlet this poor, poor headstrong woman
  • Wolf the sad yet super deadly cinnamon roll
  • Thorne the Casanova wanna-be who tries to pretend he has no morals yet is actually overflowing with them
  • Iko the preppy and overly human android

Gosh. This book have such a great cast of characters! No wonder I’m so hooked! I’m the type of reader who generally doesn’t care much for the plot (unless it’s really, really bad) as long as I have characters I could root for.

They have such a cute group name too: The Rampion Crew XD

Like in Scarlet, this book is also divided into many PoVs and is even more action-packed than ever. The author has deepened the world building, bringing us, this time, to Africa and even explaining why the cyborgs has become second-class citizens that made me go “OOOOHHHH” XD We are even given a glimpse of what it was like in Luna, specifically Artemisia (the capital city of Luna).

The existing characters have also been developed further that I can’t help being attached to them even more. I even started caring for Scarlet who seems to be the most unfortunate of them all in this book 😥 I also loved the fact that Cinder and Kai had found great adult supervisions in Dr. Erland and Torin respectively. I thought they seem a bit more believable because despite being such sensible and smart cinnamon rolls, they were still young and inexperienced and still prone to making careless mistakes or having doubts about themselves.

It had been a long time since Kai had seen that expression on his adviser. The expression that indicated he thought Kai was a moron.

Lol XD

Then there’s also Cress and Thorne, the main couple in this book. Their romance is so cute if a bit cheesy. But that’s just because Cress is such a hopeless romantic who had been too lonely for so long XD I definitely love Thorne for being mature despite his personality. He didn’t take advantage of sweet, innocent Cress even when she was throwing herself at him XD She’s suffering from damsel syndrome it seems.

Cress, this is sweet, but aren’t I the first guy you’ve ever met? Come on, up you go.

As for Scarlet and Wolf…well, I still find their romance to be the less believable out of the three couples but I guess it’s not really bad XD Wolf is just too adorable anyway XD My favorite is Cinder and Kai of course. I just dig the whole “forbidden” attraction thing going on between them XD

I also loved the fact how Cinder finally decided to cut loose from her past by confronting (sort of) her step-mother, Adri. Then there’s also Queen Levana. Oh my stars, I don’t think I’ve ever hated a villain like this before..except maybe for Umbridge. At first Levana seems just like a mindlessly evil character, but now that her PoVs are being included in the books, it isn’t the case after all. She’s definitely evil but not mindlessly so XD I really, really want to strangle her.

Conclusion

The author is obviously getting better as each book passes ❤ I am very hooked with this series. More questions were answered here, even the questions as far as the first book. I am definitely in love with the author’s style. Her pacing is really good, she has yet to mess it up (for me at least) XD She also combines action, adventure, humor, drama and romance so perfectly! My feels are all over the place! Gah!

Also, not a single hint of love triangle! I’m in romance heaven! ❤

Unless, of course, you would count Queen Levana as a viable love triangle candidate for Kai and Cinder. If you do, I’m gonna judge you for all eternity O_O


My ratingtwk-fullstartwk-fullstartwk-fullstartwk-fullstartwk-fullstar + ❤ ❤ ❤

Recommended to: People who loved or at least read the previous books 🙂

Favorite character: Still Cinder and Thorne 😄

Favorite quote“I believe it is the mark of a great leader to question the decisions that came before him.”

1 thought on “Book Review: Cress (The Lunar Chronicles #3)”

Share a Thought

