Journal

The Ultimate Book Tag

I wanted to post something different and personal but I didn’t have any idea what. But then I came across Maxxesbooktopia’s The Ultimate Book Tag and thought I’d like to try it too (despite not being tagged) XD I also found some more additional questions and added them here…Welp, here it goes! 🙂

ubt

1. DO YOU GET SICK WHILE READING IN THE CAR?

Nope, though it has been a while since I read while commuting. Had to take better care of my eyes now. My lenses are already too thick 😥

2. WHICH AUTHOR’S WRITING STYLE IS COMPLETELY UNIQUE TO YOU AND WHY?

Neil Gaiman, I guess? I dunno, he just came to mind. Maybe it’s because of this:

The eighty-first Lord of Stormhold lay dying in his chamber, which was carved from the highest peak like a hole in a rotten tooth.

I was never able to forget this description XD I guess I just never read anything, much less a room, being compared to a tooth decay before XD

3. HARRY POTTER SERIES OR THE TWILIGHT SAGA? GIVE 3 POINTS TO DEFEND YOUR ANSWER.

HARRY POTTER of course!

  • Superior characters
  • Superior writing and plot structure
  • Superior WORLD BUILDING

Why were these two pitted against each other? Lol if it had been a choice between HP and PJatO or even LotR, I would have at least thought about my answers lol

4. DO YOU CARRY A BOOK BAG? IF SO, WHAT IS IN IT (BESIDES BOOKS)?

No, but if I did, it would also contain my sketchbook and pencils 🙂

5. DO YOU SMELL YOUR BOOKS?

What’s the point of getting PHYSICAL BOOKS if I don’t smell them?! Of course I do! XD

6. BOOKS WITH OR WITHOUT LITTLE ILLUSTRATIONS?

It depends 🙂 If I am reading a children’s book I would expect to see illustrations 😀

7. WHAT BOOK DID YOU LOVE WHILE READING BUT DISCOVERED LATER IT WASN’T QUALITY WRITING?

*whispers*…Twilight.

What? We’ve all been young once! *sulks*

8. DO YOU HAVE ANY FUNNY STORIES INVOLVING BOOKS FROM YOUR CHILDHOOD? PLEASE SHARE!

Hmmm…I don’t know if it’s funny but now that I think about it, I can’t help but find it funny.

There was one time when I was in Grade 5, about 11 years old I think…I was reading a Sweet Valley High pocketbook during Math class. I thought I was being rather sneaky but oh how wrong I was! My teacher caught me red-handed and had promptly confiscated the book, scolding me for– what felt then– all the world to hear.

I have always been a quiet and shy child and I was appropriately embarrassed for being caught reading (a cheesy romantic book at that) while in class. A class that I was rather very weak at, mind you. So…I was never able to work up the courage to ask the book back from my teacher– for weeks.

Now that book was borrowed from our school library and of course had a set date to be returned. Naturally, failure to return it on time would result in gargantuan fines. For my 11-year-old self at least. XD

Long story short, I told a classmate of mine about it (I couldn’t recall who it was) since I’ve been steadily becoming worried about the library fines, and she took pity on me. She went to the faculty room and asked for the book herself. I remember being really embarrassed about it, thinking I should’ve been the one to go and get the book. But I was more relieved to get it back and I still wasn’t able to look our teacher in the eyes for a few more weeks after. XD

In the end, I had to pay around 20 pesos for the library fine…which was a day’s school allowance for me back then. Also, I wasn’t able to borrow books for almost an entire month @_@ That was the worst of all 😥

9. WHAT IS THE THINNEST BOOK ON YOUR SHELF?

Italian for Xenophobes XD

10. WHAT IS THE THICKEST BOOK ON YOUR SHELF?

Does a Thesaurus count? No? Queen of Shadows then XD

11. DO YOU WRITE AS WELL AS READ? DO YOU SEE YOURSELF IN THE FUTURE AS BEING AN AUTHOR?

Oh yes, I do. But then again, that might just be my wishful thinking XD I’ve never really finished any story I’ve ever started writing…not even a oneshot fanfic XD

But I am planning to write a book series. I even started designing my characters for more than a year now. Let’s hope it actually gets somewhere this time XD

12. WHEN DID YOU GET INTO READING?

I think when I was 8 or 9? I remember borrowing as much as 5 books (the maximum limit) all at once from our school library. My mom would always get exasperated when she sees my bulging bag XD We already had to stuff 6 or 7 school books and notebooks in it and I just had to add in my borrowed books XD

13. WHAT IS YOUR FAVOURITE CLASSIC BOOK?

Hmm…This is hard…I guess it would be “The Little Prince” by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

14. IN SCHOOL WHAT WAS YOUR BEST SUBJECT?

Art and English. I think Biology too XD

15. IF YOU WERE GIVEN A BOOK AS A PRESENT THAT YOU HAD READ BEFORE AND HATED, WHAT WOULD YOU DO?

I would keep it because it is a gift and I am an insatiable book-hoarder XD

16. WHAT IS A LESSER KNOWN SERIES THAT YOU KNOW OF THAT IS SIMILAR TO HARRY POTTER OR THE HUNGER GAMES?

Uh….School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani…I guess? I mean, it’s set in school…and is magical and also have the “sacrifice a person” thingie…sort of… XD

17. WHAT IS A BAD HABIT YOU ALWAYS DO (BESIDES RAMBLING) WHILE BLOGGING?

Rant? Drop bad words? Write too long posts? IDK? Can you tell me?

18. WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE WORD?

Balance ❤ Because it’s something I want to achieve 😉 I want to be the Avatar XD

19. ARE YOU A NERD, DORK, OR DWEEB? OR ALL OF THE ABOVE?

I prefer ECCENTRIC, thank you very much. Or Goddess. Yep. I’m a goddess. Unfathomable to mere mortals 😉

20. VAMPIRES OR FAIRIES? WHY?

Fairies. Because they don’t burn in the sun XD

21. SHAPESHIFTERS OR ANGELS? WHY?

Um. I don’t have preference between these two when it comes to stories 😐 For aesthetics, I guess Angels? But “Shapeshifters” can also shapeshift to look pretty and shiz right? XD

22. SPIRITS OR WEREWOLVES? WHY?

Same with the previous question, I don’t have preference between these two.

23. ZOMBIES OR VAMPIRES?

Story-wise, zombies. I dig the whole survival thing. Aesthetic-wise, vampires XD

24. LOVE TRIANGLE OR FORBIDDEN LOVE?

I actually prefer a wholesome yet epic romance, one borne out of an epic friendship, tempered with time and soul-searching adventure XD Lol also, I’m not a very big fan of cheaters and selfish people 😛

But if I really have to choose, I would have to say Forbidden Love…Sometimes I find it cute that characters struggle so hard to be together and go “it’s us against the world” drama XD Though as an aspiring author, I don’t think I am above writing love triangles XD

 25. AND FINALLY: FULL ON ROMANCE BOOKS OR ACTION-PACKED WITH A FEW LOVE SCENES MIXED IN?

ACTION-PACKED WITH A FEW LOVE SCENES. I just can’t stand too much lovey-dovey and mushy stuff XD I guess I’m too old for it?

Once upon a time, I read or watch things just to ship characters together no matter how unlikely the pair is…now, not so much. I find most romance, especially in dystopian YAs, rather tasteless. So yes, please keep them romance to a minimum. PLEASE. Unless they’re really good (very subjective on my part) of course. I’m not that much of a cynic XD


Well, that was fun. Hmm…tagging @thepurplenightingale 😀 or anyone else who might be interested? XD

Share a Thought

